Holidays, On My Soapbox!

Happy New Year, 2014


Dearest Readers

Today is New Years Eve. A time for everyone to celebrate, just a bit too much. A time to give thanks that we are able to
‘welcome in the New Year.’

When I think of New Years Eve, I think of friendship, spending time with some of my closest friends and reminiscing about the year. We in America have so much to be thankful for, especially if we have good health.

During New Years Eve 2012, Phil and I celebrated the new year with our friends. I do not recall myself celebrating because I was so sick. Fortunately, for this New Years Eve, I am not sick, but Phil and I have decided to have a quiet New Years Eve. We might go to a movie, or we might just sit at home and watch TV. After all, we have many movies to catch up on since we’ve recorded an abundance of them. I have wine chilled in the fridge and I might open a bottle so I can sip it quietly at home, where I do not have to be the designated driver!

What are your plans for the New Year? In Charleston there are many parties. The Elks Lodge has a private party, although Phil and I have decided not to be out on the roads at New Years. There are too many drivers on the road that should NOT be on the road, due to drinking just a bit too much holiday cheer.

For all of my readers, I would like to wish you a safe and Happy New Year 2014. May you enjoy the best of life. May you have good health and happiness, and may you continue to appreciate your life and family. May 2014 be a prosperous, happy year for you and your family. May you remember to give thanks to God for all that you have and all that you will accomplish in life.

2013 was a pleasant year for our family. A quiet, restful peacefulness within our home. I imagine there will be an abundance of fireworks in our neighborhood, like there is every year, so it will not be beneficial to crawl into bed early. The fireworks exploding in the skies always frighten our pups, and I do not dare to let them outside during this time, for fear that something could frighten them. How I wish our community would make them illegal, but I do not foresee that happening. Fireworks is one of the reasons a few of my neighbors chose to move to Mt. Pleasant. Isn’t that a great reason to move into a community — the freedom to explode fireworks??? Says a lot, doesn’t it!

I suppose I could really jump on my soapbox about fireworks, but why bother –NO ONE OFFICIALLY cares about them in Mt. Pleasant, and the last time I complained I was basically brushed off, leaving me to feel as If I am the problem and not ‘fireworks.’ Can’t help being a bit curious as to how many ’emergencies’ occur due to fireworks. They are dangerous, although children do not see the danger, and neither do the parents permitting the children to shoot them into my yard care!

So for now, I will close and wish all of you a safe and Happy New Year, 2014. Please be considerate of others IF you are popping fireworks at your home, and do us all a favor, don’t shoot them into a neighbor’s lawn or home. Happy New Year.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year, 2014”

  1. On Friday, February 7, 2014 9:27 PM, Richard Perry wrote:

    On Saturday, February 8, 2014 6:59 AM, WENDY MILESKI wrote:

Leave a Reply

